Food Tasting

Testimonials

1
2
3
9/26/2022

I am so grateful to find Hotel Banquet (Grace Catering) for my son's wedding reception. Andrew has provided countless valuable advices not only for food but also for decorations and things that we overlooked. The food was incredibly delicious and the quantity is certainly much more than we expected. We received a lot of inquiries and compliments from guests about the food. The onsite manager and servers nicely packaged extra food in boxes for guests to take home. Many guests expressed that this is the best wedding reception that they've ever had. Thank you very much Andrew and Grace Catering crew.


Li C.
Carson, CA
7/7/2022

Andrew and Calvin are so helpful. My wife and I were having difficulties finding the food catering services for our wedding. After talking with Andrew, he is so kind and supportive to explain the details of being a catering for a wedding event, which released us from a stressed condition during wedding preparation. Besides, after we decided to have them to help us, they were patient and kind to answer all the questions and requests for the next two months. In the end, the guests love the food and service from them. We recommend them to anyone who might need a catering for events.


Chang L.
Pasadena, CA
6/22/2022

We hired Hotel Banquet (Grace Catering) to cater our wedding reception at Castle Green. Working with Andrew was great because communication was easy, and he is simply an incredibly kind human being. He gave great advice and was actually the one who recommended the venue. On the day of the wedding, we ordered the 10 course, family-style dinner. The food was delicious and I got so many compliments from our guests saying it was the best wedding food they've had. I will definitely be referring Hotel Banquet to all my friends and family for future events.


Krystal T.
Stockton, CA
6/2/2022

We decided to choose Hotel Banquet for our wedding reception dinner. Working with Andrew made the experience so incredibly easy. He gave good advice from the start and was on top of everything. On the wedding day, his staff went above and beyond with providing excellent service and were very helpful and professional. We received countless compliments from both young and old people about how amazing the food was. Even my elderly picky Asian parents enjoyed the food very much. You should definitely choose this vendor if you are looking for reasonable prices, excellent service, delicious food, and ease of mind.


Andrew L.
Alhambra, CA
3/9/2022

If you are looking for authentic Chinese cuisine for your banquet, you are in the right place. Andrew and his team members in Grace Catering (aka Hotelbanquet.com) made my daughter's wedding banquet memorable and remarkable. Words cannot express our deepest appreciation. Attached please find our humble opinions... G R A C E deserves its name.

G: Great Variety of Dishes

There are over 600 items that we can choose from. They even have Korean, Japanese, and fusion food.

R: Reputable Company

Grace Catering is a reputable and a well-known catering company which has been in the business for over 29 years. Andrew is a passionate catering expert.

A: Amazing Taste of Food

Each dish has been specially designed and has its amazing taste. We received numerous compliments from our relatives and guests.

C: Customer Friendly and Customer Centered

Andrew paid special attention to our needs and provided customized recommendations to make sure our whole wedding banquet would go smoothly and successfully.

E: Exceptional Outcome

All of our guests and relatives were very impressed by the quality and presentation of the food and professionalism of the serving staff. They were all extremely satisfied with their banquet experience.


Vernon and Grace Lin
Walnut, CA
Event Date December 4, 2021

We were helping a couple of our friends from church for their wedding. It was a God-sent that Andrew was referred to us.

The process of wedding banquet ordering, planning, and delivery were superb! The food tasted amazing and quantity was plentiful. There even were comments from the guests saying "We (our church) need to do this every month!"

The whole wedding day was God's blessing: the wedding ceremony was beautiful, and the wedding banquet was the crescendo for all who shared the joy with the newlyweds.


Mitch H.
Newbury Park, CA
Event Date: Nov 1, 2021

Picking Hotel Banquet was an easy choice for our wedding. We had their food at my best friends wedding, Tracey, and it was so good. I asked her for her catering info and it was Andrew's! She said Andrew, the main coordinator, is very nice. He always returns my emails and phone calls promptly. He is fast with communication and remembers every little detail. He always calls a lot to check up on us and on any little detail to update which I appreciate. We were always on the same page!

Looking on their website, they have courses style or buffet style for general parties and weddings. The prices are very reasonable and the food is very good. Every protein whether it was fish or pork or chicken or beef was very moist and hot served at our wedding. The caterer team arrived a bit earlier and set up everything on time. They were also very clean and concise.

The buffet option also comes with a 3 tier white wedding cake that you can decorate with flowers!

At our wedding, the staff gave us two huge plates of food from the buffet. However, by the time we greeted all the tables and sat down, our food was cold. The staff immediately brought us two fresh plates of food and said they'll pack the first plates for us. How thoughtful!

Pros:
-Andrew is so nice! He is the best! Very fast and reliable communication!
-pricing is so reasonable with the amount and quality of food
-cake was good!
-food was delicious, served hot and fresh
-buffet comes with 12 courses
-buffet food also comes with soda, water and hot tea
-there are scheduled food tastings available to try the food first
-large variety of menu options

Cons:-nothing!

I am definitely recommending Andrew for all my family and friends weddings or big parties! The service is very reliable! Good food and reliable friendly service! What more can we expect?

My mom and I love you Andrew! You've been so kind and helpful throughout this whole planning for the past 2 years! We appreciate your patience!

10 photos for Hotel Banquet


Cuc N.
Temple City, CA
Event Date: Oct 12, 2021

We recently had our wedding at the Vineyards in Simi Valley. We wanted a traditional Chinese buffet at our wedding. Andrew who helped us all the way is a wonderful person. He would call often to ensure things were moving smoothly. He was very professional. We were first invited to do a trial in which I brought my parents and fiancée at the time. We really enjoyed the food. Our favorite we have to say was the lobster and shrimp. DELICIOUS.

In addition, the service provided the day of the wedding was 5 stars. We were served immediately as husband and wife and everyone followed.

Our guest were very pleased with the food. At the end of the night the leftovers were nicely packed for our guests and family.

We highly recommend Hotel Banquet catering. If you want great customer service, attention to detail and great communication, you won't regret hiring them


Bera M.
NEWBURY PARK, CA
Event Date: Aug 24, 2021

We found Andrew and Hotel Banquet when trying to find a caterer for a birthday event. We didn't want the traditional asian dishes, so Andrew's limitless buffet menu options was exactly what we needed. We choose the 12-item Buffet A menu for 50 people.
Items Chosen:

1. Taiwan Style Street Tofu & Chicken
2. Vegetable Egg Rolls
3. Braised Chicken Wings with Deep Fried Tofu and Black Mushrooms
4. Spring Salad with Black Fungus, Cucumbers, Garlic, and Balsamic
5. Chicken Chow Mein
6. Deep Fried Pork Dumplings
7. Chinese Basil with Pork Meatballs
8. Fusion Style Italy Ground Pork Spaghetti
9. Taiwan Style Pork Ribs with Vegetables
10. Fusion Style Stir Fried Ground Pork with Cold Noodles
11. Stir Fried Bitter Melon and Pork Ribs
12. Stir Fried Pork Belly

We also added the additional package service to to get desserts, fruit trays, drinks, and eating utensils and have them set up the buffet trays and clean up 1 hour before the event ended. Our event time was 12PM. They delivered to our Clubhouse and set up the food beautifully, then came back 1 hour before the event ended with to-go boxes, packed the food for the guests, and cleaned up.

Everyone was impressed with the amount, presentation, and taste of the food. The variety of food was a hit with adults, vegetarians, and even picky little eaters. We had so much food leftover that everyone ended up taking home a box. We were thoroughly impressed with Andrew and his team. Andrew looked over our menu, gave us a quote, and recommended what items should be replaced or what he feels is missing or would compliment other dishes better. That tells us Andrew truly cares about his customer and the quality of his food. He is very responsive and truly a funny guy to work with. If you want to elevate any kind of party or event, hire Andrew and his team.


Linda N.
Garden Grove, CA
Event Date: Nov 10, 2020

We booked Andrew and Hotel Banquet for 300 guest wedding buffet and got A class service and a cake! Andrew coordinated well with our wedding team and venue, brought tablecloths plates and drinks and had waiters serve the guests. He also brought tablecloths for our sweetheart table and check-in table! Andrew also speaks Chinese and gave us a free tasting along with other couples. The price was great and we had plenty of food with leftovers. I especially like the Japanese style maki sushi and Andrew's in house special richman fried rice. Hotel Banquet is a great choice if you want something easy to coordinate, great service and Chinese food at a good price. Would recommend to any couple who wants to serve Asian food at their home church venue!


Joshua K.
Rowland Heights, United States
Event Date: Feb 3, 2020

We hired Andrew's team as our caterer for our wedding (10/12/2019). We received a lot of compliments from our friends and family on how delicious the dinner was. There were so much leftovers and the staffs even boxed them before they left. I can't ask for a better cater than them. Amazing service from Andrew since the beginning! I will definitely hire them again for our future events and recommend to our family and friends.


Lynn C.
Pomona, United States
Event Date: Oct 14, 2019

We hired Andrew and Hotel Banquet/Grace Catering to cater our wedding. The 10-course meal got so many compliments and we're extremely happy we decided to go with Andrew and team.

Andrew also catered appetizers during our cocktail hours. My wife and I were unfortunately tied up taking tons of photos during this time, but I heard the chicken wings were amazing!

Andrew was very helpful throughout the entire planning process starting all the way with the food tasting. We highly recommend this team!


Henry D.
Reseda, CA
Event Date: Oct 1, 2019

We hired Grace Catering for my mom's birthday. For a previous birthday we couldn't find a caterer that cooked authentic Chinese food and ended up having to order and pick up food from several local Chinese restaurants which was a logistical nightmare. I was so happy to find a caterer that SPECIALIZES in Chinese food!!!

Andrew was a lot of fun to work with and really made my mom feel special which was really important. He put just as much care into her birthday as it sounds like he does the many weddings he caters. He helped my mom pick a good menu for our crowd and definitely did not oversell us. He was very helpful in letting us know what things were not necessary and an appropriate price point for what we wanted.

There is a huge variety of dishes to choose from and there was PLENTY of food.

The food was great but I have to say the service is what really made Grace Catering shine. Sophia and Jake came to serve the party. Sophia was there early to setup all the chafing dishes and set the tables. When Jake came with the food - everything was seamless. They took care of everything and had the food ready to go exactly when we had the buffet scheduled to open. They provided drinks, plates, utensils, napkins, cups. They helped clear tables - not something I expected for a buffet style birthday party. They set up the buffet area really nicely to make it easy for guests to get their food. They cut the cake (and had a cake cutter and server that we forgot to buy) that we had ordered from a different vendor and helped to distribute. They also provided hot tea at the end!! Sophia and Jake really helped to do everything they could make the party go smoothly. They also helped tremendously with clean up and even boxed up the leftovers for us.

For us people planning the party - Jake and Sophia were such a blessing. They really took care of everything and helped make a very special evening for my mom.


Charlie C.
Alhambra, CA
Event Date: Sep 5, 2019

We recently had our wedding in Redondo Beach. Three things were most important to us - Family & Friends, Food and Making Memories!

Andrew unequivocally provided some amazing dishes that my guests are still talking about today. Everything was delicious but some highlights were the Taiwanese Sticky Rice (my favorite), House Special Chow Mein (guests raved about this and couldn't get enough), Roasted Pig (what a great presentation) and Honey Walnut Shrimp (cause who doesn't love this dish).

I'm ready for my next celebration so we can have Andrew create his culinary magic again!


Winona W.
Ladera Ranch, CA
Event Date: Jul 29, 2019

The food was amazing. It was plentiful and they even provided to go boxes for my guests. The set up really classed up my event and the guests were all impressed with the food, it's quality and quantity. I will definitely be using this company again for all future events that require catering. Andrew was great to work with, very responsive on the phone and in emails.


Ami C.
Walnut, CA
Event Date: May 31, 2019

As a wedding planner, I love working with vendors who are communicative and professional. Hotel Banquet catered my clients' wedding reception at the Doubletree by Hilton in Downtown LA. Andrew and his team arrived on time and had everything ready to go from the start. They provided a 10 course family style Chinese dinner and each course was served hot and at the perfect pace. They also provided special dishes for my clients' vegetarian guests.

Before the wedding, Andrew and I communicated via phone calls and confirmed updates via emails. He was fast to respond every time my clients and I had questions. He was calm and always reassuring that he'll take care of everything catering so we have nothing to worry about.

If you're looking for an authentic Chinese banquet catering with delicious selections, look no further, Hotel Banquet has you covered. Thanks Andrew for taking care of my clients and making coordination as easy as possible!


Tina L.
San Gabriel, CA
Event Date: Apr 15, 2019

This review is long overdue but I'm so thankful I found Andrew and his team! I was referred to Hotel Banquet/Grace Catering by a friend who knew I was stressed with trying to plan a surprise luncheon for my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. I was calling multiple restaurants for reservations and I had previously dismissed the idea of catering thinking it would be too expensive. Thank goodness I checked it out! Andrew was very responsive and accommodating and quickly assured me that he would take care of everything. All I had to do was choose which dishes I wanted from a pretty extensive variety. They covered everything from the food, delivery, linens, silverware, drinks, take out containers, you name it! It was such a relief knowing I didn't have to worry about such a big part of the event and could focus on other things. He also made arrangements from someone to come back a few hours later to pick up everything same day so my venue would not charge us extra. The only hiccup we had was one dish was not what I had originally ordered and I was not told of the substitution. But the food was delicious! Multiple guests commented on the food and there was plenty so nearly all our 50 guests took some food home! Thank you again, Andrew! You were a life saver and would recommend Hotel Banquet to anyone in a heartbeat


julie k.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: Apr 3, 2019

I would like to take a chance to thank Andrew and his team for the authentic Chinese gourmet catering services over such a short notice in the new year. Our company hosted a Chinese New Year client event with over 100+ guests on Jan. 11th. If not with their delicacies and desserts, this event would not be so satisfying and successful!! I highly recommend to seek their assistance if you ever need to plan for a professional gathering event. Thank you so much for your great help Andrew!


Christine C.
Chino Hills, CA
Event Date: Jan 19, 2019

I used Hotel Banquet (aka Grace Catering) for my wedding and they were superb! We wanted family-style Chinese food but did not want to have it at a Chinese restaurant. Before stumbling upon Grace Catering, it was a struggle to find good Chinese food that catered for a wedding. As soon as I found Grace Catering, I knew I had found what I was looking for. First off, they provided a 10-course meal food tasting free of charge, so that we can judge the food before we made our final decision. The food was amazing. We learned that the cook everything on site so the dishes would be fresh when served, so we booked them straight away. Andrew was the main person I was in contact with and he was great! He worked with us to customize the courses based on our liking and made sure it was exactly what we wanted. He was very easy to talk to and readily available to answer any of our questions. A week before the wedding, he called us to triple check all the details and reassured us that he will make sure that everything will run smoothly for our day. On the day of, Andrew personally came to the venue early to oversee his team and made sure everything was in place in a timely manner before the reception started. His team continued to check on us throughout the night to make sure that my husband and I had enough food/water/tea. Andrew and his team's hospitality is incomparable and I would highly recommend anyone looking for Chinese food catering to book with Grace Catering.


Jennifer L.
Arcadia, CA
Event Date: Jan 14, 2019

For our wedding, we went with Hotel Banquet (AKA Grace Catering) for our outside caterer. The price was within our budget and they serve Chinese family style food (a big plus, since both sides of the family wanted this kind of food). We tried the food at their tasting, and my mother-in-law approved it, so we decided to hire Andrew. From the get-go, he was very understanding of the Chinese traditions and didn't question any of our concerns. Hotel Banquet was actually a preferred vendor at our venue, so Andrew knew the ins and outs of the place, which put us all at ease. He was the only vendor allowed to cook in the kitchen, which meant all the food was brought out hot and fresh for our guests. Usually, the venue requires all outside catering vendors to bring the food in and heat it up in the kitchen, but luckily, we had Andrew :)

There was a mishap with one of the appetizers where the endives were not fresh that season, so Andrew called me straight away and recommended another dish in its place. I trusted his judgment and that was that.

The day before the wedding, Andrew called to reassure us not to worry at all about the food, and he made a promise to take care of everything. That took a lot of stress off of us, and on the wedding day, Andrew came through with this promise and all of the relatives loved the food. Honestly, the 10 courses were so much that everyone had to take home leftovers. Someone even stole the leftovers from our sweetheart table! That's how good the food was. I'm not even upset that someone stole our leftovers, we wouldn't've been able to eat them at home anyways since we were staying at the hotel, but that was pretty hilarious.

TLDR: Andrew is amazing to work with, the food was great, and everything is reasonably priced.


Debbie T.
Alhambra, CA
Event Date: Dec 5, 2018

Working with Andrew was a wonderful experience for my wedding. I first heard about him and my catering service from my wife, so we decided to go do a food tasting with him. I can honestly say the lobster he made for us was the best lobster I've ever had, it was so flavorful and came right off the shell. The other dishes he had, like prawns & walnut and the steamed fish, we're also amazing, so we hired Andrew to cater for our big day.

Andrew is very knowledgable and accommodating. He was willing to change 3-4 dishes to ones we preferred more, offered his expert suggestions, and also provided his recommendations for finger foods for cocktail hour. The curry samosas were amazing! During the reception my wife and I, as the bride and groom, were only able to have 3-4 dishes before we attended to other reception events, and they were all delicious (cold dish, steamed fish, lobster, and prawns & walnuts). I wish I could have more at this very moment. Many of my guests, who ate all the dishes, said it was one of the best, if not the best, reception dinners they've ever had.

Out of all the caterers we could have chosen from, I'm extremely glad my wife and I went with Andrew and his services. I highly recommend him, and would hire his services again for other big party events.


Hung V.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: Nov 15, 2018

I'm writing this review from the POV of a wedding planner who has worked with Andrew and his team twice. My clients have been very happy with the food and service provided by the team.

They offer tastings of the full 10-course Chinese banquet menus every few months, so my clients are able to taste everything on the menu beforehand and make adjustments and customizations for their wedding.

They provide everything on the tabletop from the table linen to the lazy susan, serving dishes and china. They cook everything on site, so everything is freshly made and piping hot when served - they bring in their own kitchen setup, so clients don't incur any additional rental fees for kitchen equipment (this is rare)!

The banquet team is professional, reliable, and well-trained; everything is executed as planned based on the timeline + details we provide to the team. Their banquet captain James, who we worked with twice, is on top of everything and very helpful and collaborative.

They are willing to conform with different venues' requirements and rules, and have an excellent standard of organization and cleanliness. They have been praised by venue managers at some of the strictest venues. Best of all, they are very reasonably priced. I will definitely recommend Hotel Banquet to future clients.


Lilian H.
San Gabriel, CA
Event Date: Oct 12, 2018

Andrew, Andrew, Andrew! What can I say! Great Guy! Andrew and his staff provided my wife and I the wedding reception of our dreams. Him and his staff were amazing! If you want a great wedding reception and/or corporate catering; Andrew is your guy! Thank you for the wonderful and amazing job you guys did at our wedding! If you are looking for great food; affordable prices; and amazing experience; Grace Catering/Hotel Banquet is the way to go! Thanks again Andrew!

Andy & Channsy


Andy C.
Los Angeles, CA
Event Date: Sep 26, 2018

Andrew is so awesome not only his food quality but also his spirit and encouragement that he made for us from time to time. Every time we met him for wedding preparation he always gave us advices from any general stuffs to very detailed items. He also treated us Vietnamese food as well, not once but twice or third time.

In wedding reception, Andrew, his manager and staffs were very helpful and made my wedding even more beautiful and perfect. The food was so good and generous especially lobster, fried rice, crab claws... We're so thankful to Hotel Banquet and if not with them, my wedding can't be so happy and meaningful like this!

It's not easy to handle an outdoor wedding but he did it with love and professionalism. You can't be wrong if you choose Hotel banquet for your next event!


Bryan L.
Garden Grove, CA
Event Date: Aug 28, 2018

Hi Andrew,

Thank you so much to you and your team for providing excellent service and amazing food for our special day.

We appreciate it very much.

Sincerely,


Sarah & Jason

Hi Andrew!!!

We want let you know that we are very happy to have had your team at the wedding, the food was amazing and all of our guests loved it. Your team was super professional and very organized! Everything went very smoothly. We will keep you in mind and will recommend Hotel Banquet to friends and family in the future!


Kelly Ngo
Event Date: April 9, 2018

To make a long story short we threw a shotgun wedding in less than one month. We found Andrew and the hotel banquet on Yelp and my husband knew he was the one.

Earning every 5 stars after we met him Andrew made certain our catering experience was nothing short of first class.

The icing on top of the cake was the service of his staff on the day of the wedding. From freshly prepped food cooked from scratch to the manager making sure the bride and groom were taken care of.

Needless to say this will be the only catering company we will use going forward.


Fancy K.
Westminster, CA
Event Date: December, 2017

It's commonly accepted for wedding food to be bland and tasteless. So I wanted to differentiate from the common wedding by having AMAZING food. Andrew was not only priced very affordable, he tasted the best. hands down, the best. He offers a free complimentary meal where you can taste and see what he would be serving at the wedding.

It was fantastic to hear people continuously compliment us on how great the food was. The fascinating thing when talking to my guests? Different people had a different take on what the best dish was. In fact, my wife and I were approached by several people asking which restaurant we hired so they could go there again.

The serving size were generous. At the end of the night, I dont recall seeing any tables finish all the food, however, every table took him their left overs.

One (positive for me) thing about Andrew is that he's a very hands on caterer. He offers great suggestions and wants to be involved so that everyone comes out with a positive experience. I appreciate the extra care and thought. In fact, during the wedding, my wife and I got our own server, which was really nice and I appreciated the thought.

I'd recommend Andrew and his team to anyone.


Richard C.
San Jose, CA
Event Date: December, 2017

When it came to my wedding, my top priority was ensuring that the food was excellent.

After trying many Chinese-style menus, we decided that Hotel Banquet was the right choice for us. With Hotel Banquet, you are able to sample the ENTIRE menu and see the full presentation, as if it would be served during your wedding for FREE!

Andrew, the owner, is extremely personable and professional. You are able to customize the menu, so that it fits your budget and needs. He works with you to ensure you receive the highest quality in food and service. He is also very responsive to emails and phone calls.

His team did not disappoint at all. They were very attentive and courteous. All my guests complimented that our food was excellent.

Do yourself a favor and choose Hotel Banquet for your next event!


Lo R.
Orange County, CA
Event Date: October, 2017
1
2
3